What’s going on next door?

I have these neighbors that I have been watching for the past few year over at the David B. Thompson Farm. I watched as they planted a small garden one year and then a larger one the next and a larger one the next, and, well, you get the idea.

Curiousity got the best of me so I walked over to talk to the folks that were harvesting what looked to me like potatoes. Potatoes? Seriously? As I talked to the potato diggers I learned that they had grown Pontiac Red, Green Mountain, Yukon Gold and Katahdin varieties of potatoes.

Why? I wondered outloud. They shared with me that the first year Tuberville provided 1470 pounds of potatoes for the Chittenden Emergency Food Shelf and then 4600 poundsthat were shared with not only the Chittenden Emergency Food Shelf but with the Milton Family Center, the Vermont Food Bank, the Ronald McDonald House and then providing potatoes for the Thanksgiving meal baskets organized by the Colchester High School Cares program.

This gave me an idea for a blog called (you guessed it) One potato at a time.

In this new blog I will share more information about that is going on in Tuberville and how you and your friends can get involved.

  • Potato trivia
  • History of potatoes
  • Guest bloggers
  • How to spell potato(es) (kidding)
  • Potato recipes
  • How you can become involved
  • How to donate

Then I learned that the point of all this was to feed people, one potato at a time.

If you or someone you know needs assistance with food, housing, employment, health care, counseling and much more you can call 2-1-1. They can provide free and confidential information and referral.  Learn more about your local 2-1-1 by looking it up here. http://www.211.org/ or simply dialing 2-1-1.

TommyB – Tommy Ballard

Tuberville http://tuberville.org/index.php

This entry was posted in Fighting hunger and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

